The ant and the grasshopper

Here we are, the Burning Crusade is winding down and the long dark winter of the Wrath of the Litch King is approaching. it makes me think of the story of the grasshopper and  the ant.

 

The ant works hard in the withering heat all summer
long, building his house and laying up supplies for
the winter. The grasshopper thinks he’s a fool and
laughs and dances and plays the summer away. Come
winter, the ant is warm and well fed. The grasshopper 
has no food or shelter so he dies out in the cold

 

Like the ants in the story some folks are starting to stockpile money and materials like the Wrath of the Litch King is the long cold winter they need to prepare for. They grind materials, they do dailies stockpiling gold, they have bank alts full of stack upon stack of crafting materials for the next phase of the game. in short they are prepared.

 

Then like the grasshopper there are those more worried about having fun now. Stockpiling things by accident at best. spending more time on doing whatever seems fun at the time than worrying about what will happen when the long dark night of leveling in a new area comes to pass. They simply trust that whatever they need will be found along the way.

 

 

I can’t speak for you but I am a grasshopper. I will keep goofing around and having fun for now, leveling my alts and going wherever the winds carry me. When the time comes I will travel light and live off the land. Only time will tell which way was the wisest choice.

 

8 Responses

  1. I too am a grasshopper. I made it to 70 that way, I’ll make it to 80 as well. I would much rather take my time and experience things as they come than get all neurotic about how much stuff I need to help get my professions to the next max level, or any of that. I’m sure there are people in my guild who will race to see who can get to 80 first, but I won’t be one of them. In that way, I’m thankful that the new raid instances can be done with 10 people as well as 25. The ones who want to race to 80 will have something to keep them occupied while the rest of us meander through the new content and catch up 🙂

  2. Well, I’m more grasshopper right now as I’m leveling a new class with the idea it’ll be my Wrath main.

  3. Grasshopper for sure.

    Excellent article, great analogy!!

  4. Definitely a grasshopper, and proud of it. I indulge in a little ant mocking occasionally (like the people I know just hoarding gold away for the expansion – where’s the run in that?!?!). I figure, Blizz wont make the expansion too hard to get through on limited funds and resources – people will one day need to trudge from 0-80 one day, and they certainly won’t have much!

  5. […] expansion, Wrath of the Lich King (WotLK), I’m not doing much of anything at all. Like Be Nameless, I’m a grasshopper. I’m not following leaked information, so I really don’t know […]

  6. […] by benameless on July 7, 2008 A while back I did a post on how I was looking at the upcoming expansion. I was happy with where I was, and was just really […]

  7. […] expansion, Wrath of the Lich King (WotLK), I’m not doing much of anything at all. Like Be Nameless, I’m a grasshopper. I’m not following leaked information, so I really don’t know […]

  8. […] expansion, Wrath of the Lich King (WotLK), I’m not doing much of anything at all. Like Be Nameless, I’m a grasshopper. I’m not following leaked information, so I really don’t know […]

Leave a comment