What are epics worth?

I was planning to write something witty this morning but alas my brain is mush. Last night I popped online to chat with a few friends before I went to bed and got snatched up by the epic bug.

I was on my priest in Shat when the whisper came. “Looking to fill one last healing slot for a fresh Kara clear, are you interested?” With a glance at the clock I knew I should not go. It was already about 9:30 and I had to be up for work at 3 am, but the epics were calling.

For those who don’t know me my priest is relatively well geared considering he hit 70 about 2 months ago. Tier 4 and badge epics mostly with a little bit of crafted gear thrown in. The only things I had never been able to replace were the gloves and trinket I had been using since my first Blood furnace run. Yep, I was healing SSC with a pair of level 60 blues.

Well, I reasoned, I have 22 badges sitting in the bank. A full clear would give me enough to upgrade the trinket at least, and there is always hope for one of the two pair of healing gloves to drop as well. Thus I finished convincing myself and agreed.

The group I ran with was reasonably well coordinated, competent, and smashed through most of Kara with few wipes. It was a good run. Not only did I have an absolute blast and get my badges I picked up the token for my tier 4 gloves as well. I hearthed back to Shat, logged, and headed to bed. As I climbed in to go to sleep I remember looking at the clock, 1:26 am.

At 3am I was back up and getting ready to start my day. I was pondering a bit about people calling Badge rewards “welfare epics” for the casuals. The more I rolled that around in my head the more I thought that there is nothing “free” about the epics I have gathered. Epics in the game, like everything else in life have a price. It’s all about how much you are willing to pay.

 

One Response

  1. I find that the term welfare in World of Warcraft is almost directly related to the amount of time that an individual spends raiding. For example, I was shocked at how difficult people found it to pick up the new 2.4 badge loot when my perky priestess was sitting on a mound of around four hundred badges — and that was after having spend 100 or so on Primal Mights back in the days when they were Bind on Pickup. Then again, I had the flexibility to raid multiple times a week and would often run Heroics to alleviate the boredom.

    Now that I raid two to three days a week and only 25-man raids where we’ll down only three to five bosses, I suddenly see the difficult in acquiring badge loot. And I can’t imagine how it would be for the ultra-casual player who never raids, never gets into heroics, and relies on daily quests to pick up said loot. Ouch!

Leave a Reply

