Casually addicted

An excelent article written by Monique on Girls don’t Game about getting pulled into “hardcore” raiding really got me thinking. This is the kind stuff I come up with when I think, which is why I usually avoid thinking in favor of just drinking more coffee and turning on the history channel. 

 

Casual, it seems to be the buzzword of choice lately. Casuals get free epix! Casuals don’t have the time to raid! Casuals don’t put in the time to be top PVP’rs, Casuals are not hooked.

For what its worth “they” might very well be wrong. Wrong on all four counts.

 

No differently than real life what you get is directly related to what you put into it. Want nicer epics? spend more time, farm more badges, run harder raids. When you are doing this you might want to think about why. Am I just getting better gear so I can go get other even more better gear? Where does it end? Why do I need it? Is there really a reason or am I just chasing shadows? Your answer will be different than mine, and both are equally valid.

 

As far as raiding goes, what defines casual? Depending on who you ask it will run anywhere from “never raiding, ever” to “we only raid 3 times a week for 5 hours or so at a shot”. Both answers work for the people you are asking. I myself have raided as far as Kara with my Horde side hunter and as far as SSC with my alliance priest. I am now just a backup healer for raids (who in 3 or 4 weeks has not been called up), I pug Kara probably 3 out of 4 weeks on a Friday night. Oh and once on a lark I did a Gruuls pug, mostly because I was bored. I think I am very much on the casual end of things.

 

My brother now, I don’t think he has ever seen the inside of Kara. He can however tell you all the strengths and weaknesses of every 3 v 3 match up you can think of. He can talk about all the hidy holes and line of sight blind spots in every arena. He probably knows them better than he knows his own yard. Him and a pair of friends do pvp, both arena and battlegrounds.  couple of hours every night, plus an hour or so of dailies to buy his consumables. Is he casual? He puts more hours into pvp every week than my daughter puts into her part time job, is he casual or is he hooked?

 

Casual, an interesting word. Means many things to many people. I am casual, I said so myself. Does this mean I am not hooked on Wow? Not in the slightest. I am hooked and I know it.

When I took the product specs for wow with me computer shopping but not the specs for the software I use for household finances that gave me a clue.

When I ask how my sons day went at school and he asks about what level my latest alt is because he knows I was playing during the day, that tells me something. 

When I am willing to set my alarm for 3 am on a Saturday so I have about 5 hours to level a toon before the kids get up and I log off in favor of being dad, I know I am hooked.

 

Will I continue to play? Most likely.

 Will I continue to raid? The jury is still out on that one.

Will I continue to blog? Most certainly, even if I chase away my audience.

4 Responses

  1. Nice article, completely right on all accounts.

    I think the whole casual thing was more because blizzard made it too easy to get epics.

  2. Well I for one will continue to read. I consider myself one micro-notch (yes that is an actual unit of measure) beyond casual. I say that because RL > Game….always, but I like to experience what I’m paying Blizzard for so I moved to a new guild a few months back and we’re hammering through BT. I too know I’m hooked because even though I can go a weekend without playing (just because things get too busy), I’m constantly thinking of what I plan on doing when I get back in game.

    Good read.

  3. I gave up a raiding/class leader role with my guild due to not being able to put 4 days 4 hours a day commitment in. My guild is trying Mother tonight, and while it hurts that I am not there helping them and seeing the rest of BT, I am happier in game.

    I burned out on hunters too, so I have a little 25 shaman I’ve been playing.

    Sadly I don’t play that much less than I used to, but now if I need to leave the game for a bit to do laundry, mow the yard etc I can and not feel guilty.

    The “hardcore” tend to be more vocal but I do believe that Blizzard understands that most of the 10 million or so subscribers are more “casual” than not.

  4. @ For the Pie –

    “I burned out on hunters too”

    /gasp! I didn’t even know this was possible! =O

    @ original post – Hmm, I don’t see anything particularly scary or chase-readers-away-worthy about this post. So… do keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

